The Academy of Sciences of the Czech rebublic - ASCR

Theory and Modelling Department

Head of Department

Dr. David Tskhakaya


Fax: (+420) 286 890 448

The Research Programme
The Theory and Modeling Depertment focuses on theory and modeling of the plasma transport in the core, pedestal and Scrape-off layer (SOL), NBI and ECRH heating and runaway electron dynamics in existing (COMPASS, JET, ASDEX Upgrade, MAST-U, TCV) and future tokamaks (COMPASS-U, JT-60SA, ITER, DEMO). For numerical modelling are used numerical tools developed in different plasma laboratories worldwide, as well in-house developed codes (BIT1,3, EBdyna, NUR, PLEQUE, SOLF1D, SPICE2,3).
Group members are involved in a broad international collaboration, in scientific activities of the EUROFusion consortium via different Work Packages and E-TASC (Theory and Advanced Simulation Coordination) projects, in different ITPA (International Tokamak Physics Activity) groups and directly with ITER Organization, via direct ITER projects and ISNF (ITER Scientists Fellows’ Networks).


MSc. Irina Borodkina, Ph.D.

Bc. Aleksandr Bogdanov

Dr. Andrea Casolari

Jakub Čaloud

Ing. Jan Čečrdle

Ing. Michal Farník

Ing. Jan Hečko

Mgr. Jan Horáček, Ph.D.

Ing. Kateřina Hromasová

Dr. Fabien Jaulmes

Bc. Daniela Kropáčková

Mgr. Lukáš Kripner

Ing. Petr Mácha

Jervis Ritesh Mendonca, Dr.

Mgr. Matěj Peterka

Mgr. Aleš Podolník, Ph.D.

Václav Sedmidubský

Mgr. Jakub Seidl, Ph.D.

Dr. Oleg Shyshkin

Dr. David Tskhakaya

Vadim Yanovskiy, Ph.D.