The Academy of Sciences of the Czech rebublic - ASCR

International Board of Advisors

The International Board of Advisors was estabilished in 1999 to help with the formulation of the scientific programme, and to assess the scientific achievements of IPP.CR. The first meeting was held even before joining EURATOM in 1999; M. Tendler was elected as a chairman. In the period 2006 - 2010, the Board was chaired by Prof. H. Bruhns.

Present members of the Board


Dr. Alberto Loarte

ITER Organization, Fusion Science & Technology Department, Cadarache, France
Dr. Sebastijan Brezinsek Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
Dr. Horácio Fernandes Instituto de Plasmas e Fusão Nuclear, IST, Lisboa, Portugal
Dr. Carlos Hidalgo CIEMAT, Madrid, Spain
Prof. Arne Kallenbach Max-Planck-Institut für Plasmaphysik, ASDEX Upgrade, Germany
Dr. Xavier Litaudon EUROfusion
Dr. Thierry Loarer DSM/IRFM, CEA, Cadarache, France
Dr. Martin Valovič CCFE (Culham Science & Engineering Centre), Culham, United Kingdom
Prof. Guido Van Oost Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium
Dr. Sandor Zoletnik RMKI KFKI, Budapest, Hungary

The Board meets once per year in Prague. Recently, it turned out practical to align the meeting with the COMPASS Programmatic Conference so that the IBA members can get a first-hand information on the status of this Association’s flagship project. However, also all other IPP.CR’s activities, the main results achieved during the year, and the plans for the next period are presented. The Board then holds a discussion and comes up with conclusions and recommendations which are minuted.